Redwoods National and State Parks – Northern California

A photo journal.

I had no idea how to show how large the trees were so I stepped in front of the giant trees.

DSC_0235

As if standing in front didn’t represent the size of the trees, I had the opportunity to drive through two of the redwoods.

DSC_0272

Giants among us.

DSC_0301

This was the first tree that I drove through (so I paid $6 for each drive thru tree). The first family in a Mazda got mad at me because I drove through the tree thinking they were done (oops, but you can go through the tree more than once but yelling at me was more entertaining I guess). I also managed to catch a large, brand new Chevy Silverado trying to make his way through the tree (with much disagreement from his family, mainly his 5 year old and the owners wife). It’s funny when you walk thru the tree you see plastic bits from cars, as well as mirrors (you can also see scrapes from previous cars that couldn’t fit).

DSC_9431

DSC_9459

Driving through the Coastal Drive, mostly an unpaved section of backroads that reward you with some awesome views.

DSC_9490 DSC_9505

Fern Canyon: Where they filmed a part of Jurassic Park 2. This was a interesting place since you had to drive down a really rocky dirt road (it looked really cool, unfortunately my camera didn’t take great pics of it) and at the end you had to cross a nice pool of brown water (where many people decide to leave their cars and walk). I actually had to (not really had to since I didn’t really understand what they were saying to me but I was like whatever I’ll give them a ride down the road) give a middle aged couple a ride back to their car because they didn’t think their Prius would make it. The X5 was ready to take on the task of course, I was surprised to see a few smaller cars at the parking lot at the end that made it through.

DSC_9625 DSC_9635 DSC_9645

At the Lady Bird Johnson Grove trail (heading south).

http://www.redwoodhikes.com/RNP/LBJ.html

DSC_9711

Proceeding to leave the park (8 PM ish) but I had to stop to see the fog and the beautiful sandy beaches.

DSC_9819 DSC_9823 DSC_9859 DSC_9872 DSC_9904 DSC_9936 DSC_9950

I kept turning into little entrances through the park and found this secluded site with the sunset.

DSC_0091

Bottom two pictures were taken from the side of the highway where multiple cars had stopped, and naturally I had to stop to see what was going on. I believe they were elk wading their way through the water.

DSC_0133

DSC_0181

2 thoughts on “Redwoods National and State Parks – Northern California

Leave a comment